Deadly Hearts

$16.50 inc GST

A celebration of music, culture, and identity, from the hearts and mouths of the new generation of Indigenous Australia.

The call to artists: “What song has spoken strongest to you about growing up an Indigenous Australian?”

The response: twelve incredible new renditions from this country’s deadliest and most inspiring young musicians, taking us on a sonic journey through the foundations of their musical inspiration, and the songs that have helped shape their Indigenous identity and culture.

Jimblah paints a synth-laden, new-age picture of his ‘Island Home’, taking on the Warumpi Band classic; Robbie Miller provides some magical, goosebump-inducing moments with ‘Solid Rock’, Emily Wurramara delivers a breathy, jazz-inspired interpretation of Coloured Stone’s ‘Black Boy’, Benny Walker shares his musical inspirations by paying tribute to a timeless masterpiece, and Birdz throws his hip-hop touch at Yothu Yindi’s ‘Sunset Dreaming (Djapana)’.

From Adelaide to Arnhem Land, from Brisbane to Regional NSWDEADLY HEARTS showcases Australian music at its absolute finest. Each artist brings their own flavour whilst paying homage to, and retaining the soul of these twelve songs that hold a special place in their hearts.

The modern sound of Indigenous Australia. A landmark album from the next generation of storytellers.

Watch preview:


Out of stock

Product Description

Track Listing:

1. Jimblah – My Island Home
2. Birdz – Sunset Dreaming (Djapana Remix)
3. Robbie Miller – Solid Rock
4. Dhapanbal Yunupingu – Maralitja
5. Apakatjah – The Dead Heart
6. Benny Walker – Where Did You Sleep Last Night?
7. Philly – Yil Lull
8. Kuren – Own Backyard
9. Emily Wurramara – Black Boy
10. Yirrmal – Blackfella Whitefella
11. Daen – River Of Fearz (Ft. Kev Karmody)
12. Gawurra – When The War Is Over

Add your comment or review

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Deadly Hearts”